Kultejas News

On this day in 2013: Eight years ago, under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Team India created history, won the ICC’s big title for the last time.


  • India beat England by 5 runs in the final of Champions Trophy
  • Host England team won the toss and called India to bat first
  • Team India scored 129 runs in 20 overs in a rain-affected match.

New Delhi
Captain Cool i.e. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (MS Dhoni) is the only captain in the world to win all three major ICC tournaments. Former India captain Dhoni won the ICC Champions Trophy (2013 ICC Champions Trophy) by defeating hosts England at his home just 8 years ago today i.e. on 23 June 2020.

In the title match, Team India won the title by defeating the British (India vs England) by 5 runs. The match was reduced to 20 overs due to rain. Chasing the target of 130 runs for victory, England’s team could only score 124 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs.

For India, pacers Ishant Sharma, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja took 2-2 wickets, while for England, Eoin Morgan scored 33 and Ravi Bopara scored 30 runs. Jadeja was declared man of the match and Shikhar Dhawan was declared man of the series.

Bowlers got India off to a good start

Chasing the target of 130 runs, England got off to a poor start and Umesh Yadav gave India a strong start in the second over by getting Cook caught by Ashwin on a personal score of 2 runs. After this Ashwin and Jadeja started showing magic. Both put the brakes on the runs and also gave many blows to England. Ian Bell, Joe Root and Jonathan Trott are dismissed cheaply. Bell (13) was dismissed by Jadeja, while trot (20) and root (7) were dismissed by Ashwin.

Bopara increased tension
Ravi Bopara and Eoin Morgan added 64 runs for the fifth wicket, but in the 18th over, Ishant Sharma dismissed Morgan and Bopara in two successive balls to get Team India back in the match. In the last over, England needed 15 runs to win. 9 runs in first 5 balls. 6 runs were to be scored to win off the last ball but Treadwell could not score any run on this ball of Ashwin and his team lost the match by 5 runs.

India scored 129 for 7 wickets

Earlier, after winning the toss, the decision of bowling was proved right by the English bowlers. English bowlers kept the reins on the Indian team and allowed only 129 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs. For India, Virat Kohli scored the highest 43 and Jadeja played an unbeaten innings of 33 runs. Shikhar Dhawan, the top scorer of the tournament, scored 31 runs.

poor start for india
India had a poor start and Rohit Sharma was bowled by Broad on a personal score of just 9 runs. Dinesh Karthik 6 and captain Dhoni got out without opening the account.

Kohli and Jadeja took over
At one point India’s 5 wickets had fallen for just 66 runs. But after this, Kohli and Jadeja together put on 47 runs for the sixth wicket and got India out of trouble to some extent and in the end Team India managed to score 129 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 7 wickets.
Kohli scored 43 runs in 34 balls with the help of 4 fours and 1 six and Jadeja scored 33 runs in just 25 balls with the help of 2 fours and as many sixes. For England, Ravi Bopara took 3 wickets for just 20 runs in 4 overs.

Under Dhoni’s leadership, India won the T20 World Cup in 2007, the ODI World Cup in 2011 and the Champions Trophy in 2013. Dhoni is currently playing in the IPL after his retirement from international cricket. He will be seen captaining Chennai Super Kings in the second half of IPL 2021 in September.

Source link

How to Buy Bitcoin, Dogecoin, Ethereum in India? CLICK HERE

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More